Emily & Frank

Emily Frank Cover 00
Mother-to-be Father-to-be
First Names Emily Frank
Religion None (raised Episcopalian) None
Ethnic Background Irish, Scottish, English, German Polish, English
Languages Spoken English, Spanish, some French English, some Russian, some French
Education B.A. Spanish; MSW B.A. Economics; PhD  Economics
Profession Adoption Social Work Financial Economist

Our Story

Hello!  We are Emily and Frank, thank you for taking the time to read about us!  We have been together seven years, and married for three. We met in 2011 on a dating website when we were both living in Washington, DC.  We met in person only a week after connecting online, and have been together ever since.  We were drawn to each other’s sense of adventure, kindness, love of travel, and our shared values of family and hard work.

Emily admired Frank’s kindness, sweet nature, and easy laugh. Frank is incredibly genuine and easy going, which balances Emily’s more structured nature and helps her be easier going too.  Frank loves Emily’s commitment to her family and friends, her passion for helping others, and the way she sings whenever she’s happy. She encourages Frank to plan for the future and maintain relationships with far-flung friends. We love to travel together, play with our dog Greta, cook, and watch movies & TV at home.

We live in a wonderful suburb just outside DC, just a short drive from where Emily grew up and where her parents and sister live. We love the area and plan to raise our family here.

Emily Frank Our Story 01
Emily Frank Our Story 04
Emily Frank Our Story 05
Emily Frank Our Story 02
Emily Frank Our Story 03

Family Life

Family and close friends are incredibly important to both of us.  Before living in the DC area, we were in Texas while Frank got his degree. We loved Austin, but Frank is from Michigan and Emily from DC, so being in Texas so far away from our families was tough. We moved back to DC after he finished because we wanted to be closer to our families.

We see our families as much as we can now that we are close to them.  We visit Emily’s parents and sister every Sunday, and live just 10 minutes from Emily’s aunt and uncle.  We visit with Frank’s family 3-4 times per year.  Frank especially loves when his sister comes to visit from Japan so that he can spend time with his nephew.  We join his Mom’s family in Maine each summer for a family reunion.

Our family also includes our 8 year old lab mix, Greta.  She became part of our family  5 years ago and we love her to pieces.  She enjoys napping, cheese, playing in the yard and going for long walks.  She is very curious about kids, and is very good natured with them.  She does not like the printer - who knows why!

Emily Frank Family Life 01
Emily Frank Family Life 02
Emily Frank Family Life 03
Emily Frank Family Life 04
Emily Frank Family Life 05

Lifestyle

We love to travel, both to visit friends and family and to explore new places. We spend a lot of time with friends and family, playing team sports with a group of friends most weeks and having dinners with Emily’s family every Sunday. We enjoy hosting board game nights at our place. We like to be active and go to yoga or go running along a trail near our house. We love to cook and enjoy trying out new recipes. We are very interested in languages, Emily is fluent in Spanish and Frank speaks some Russian and French and is learning Spanish now.

Our home is in a quiet, diverse, walkable neighborhood with good schools, parks, and the local library only a short walk away. We are close to DC so we are a short subway ride from all of the great museums and cultural activities in the city.

Emily Frank Lifestyle 01
Emily Frank Lifestyle 02
Emily Frank Lifestyle 03
Emily Frank Lifestyle 04
Emily Frank Lifestyle 05

Adoption

We want as close a relationship with our child’s birth family as they are comfortable with. We are open to whatever contact feels right to you, and would love for your child to know who you are and be able to have a relationship with you, if you are comfortable with that.  We think that it's so important for a child to know where they come from, and the more loving people a kid has around them as they grow up, the better!

Diversity is important to us, which is a big part of why we decided to return to live in the DC area.  We believe that the more different people you know, the more points of view and perspectives you can understand, making you a more empathetic and well rounded person.  We hope to share those values, especially that of respecting everyone around you, with any child we are lucky enough to parent.  Our family and friend groups consist of people with a variety of racial and ethnic backgrounds, including Latino, North African, Asian and European.  The neighborhood we live in is home to people of many different races and cultures, and we think it is an excellent environment for a child to grow up in.  If we adopt a child of a different race or ethnicity than our own, we will be dedicated to making sure that they are surrounded by both adults and children who share their cultural background, as well ensuring that we incorporate it into our daily family life through food, travel, celebration and music.  We will always support them in learning more about who they are and where they come from.

Emily Frank Adoption 01

Favorites

Mother-to-be Father-to-Be
Childhood memory Swimming in the lake with my sister and cousins every summer, and my mom making Halloween costumes for my sister and I every year. Fishing with my grandfather every summer when we visited my family in Maine.
Country I’ve Visited Chile (I lived there for 1.5 years) Thailand
Movie El laberinto del fauno, Amelie, Forgetting Sarah Marshall Superbad, Demolition Man; L’auberge espagnole
Bedtime story The 12 Dancing Princesses Goodnight Moon
Dessert All the cookies Cheesecake
Snack Chips & Guacamole Any salty cheesy snack
Sport to watch or play Play soccer! I play on a team with my best friend and brother in law. Michigan football, I watched it with my grandmother as a kid.
Coffee or Tea? Coffee!! Not sure I could survive without it. Coffee, I like both but coffee is essential.
Eat in or Dine out? Both! I love food, both cooking and enjoying something cooked by others. Both, cooking is fun but I love the variety of eating out.

Best Wishes

We know this is one of the hardest decisions you’ll ever have to make and we have great respect for your strength and courage. We know that whatever choice you make, it will be out of love for your child. Only you know what is best for you, and for them.

Ready to Contact Emily & Frank?

Drop us a line today!